Business View Magazine | March 2020

358 BUSINESS VIEW MAGAZINE MARCH 2020 AT A GLANCE REGIONAL DISTRICT OF NORTH OKANAGAN, BRITISH COLUMBIA WHAT: Partnership of six municipalities and five electoral areas WHERE: Head office in Coldstream, B.C. WEBSITE: E stablished in 1965, the Regional District of North Okanagan (RDNO) is one of 27 regional districts in the province of British Columbia. The RDNO provides its more than 89,000 residents with a forward- thinking form of local government that delivers important services, such as building inspection, planning, trails and natural spaces, solid waste management, and water. The RDNO is made up of the six municipalities (Armstrong, Coldstream, Enderby, Lumby, Spallumcheen, and Vernon) and the five electoral areas (B – Swan Lake/ Commonage, C– BX/Silver Star, D – Rural Lumby, E – Cherryville, and F – Rural Enderby). The RDNO functions as the local government for the electoral areas, provides the political and administrative frameworks necessary for collaboration on sub-regional services that involve more than one member municipality and/or electoral areas, and provides region-wide services. RDNO Chair and Mayor of the Village of Lumby, Kevin Acton, notes, “The natural beauty of the region is why people live, work, play, and retire here. So, we’re investing in the sustainability and the success of our region through vital infrastructure for today and the future, as well. One region, one future DISTRICT OF AGAN Columbia ,